espial

It is not by accident
that I have been well removed
from the living parts of me
and what is left
remembers so much more than
your closeness on desperate nights
that warmed every coldness I possessed.
Things break and I think
There has got to be some indestructible someone.
Like, I don’t believe in any “invincible” but I want to.
Even when I see your pain is discreet
I try to touch it
and every touch has a stilled sound.
Pit-pat-pit
a dozen
paces away.
Yeah, The ultimate revelations in life are never glacial
they are so swift and they burn
into my skin like a serial number,
some thing that must identify me
if not define me entirely.
Personal histories don’t make the books
No one here I know is impressed by fossils
that aren’t of animal and plants in the strata
of remote past
and history only remembers you if you’re Caesar
Jesus or Columbus or whatever.

Leave a Reply

